Don’t Make Me Get the Flying Monkeys!!!!

Gail Storm ~ Thanks for the Laughs!

"My Little Margie"

"My Little Margie"

Charles Farrell and Gail Storm

The Gail Storm Show

The Gail Storm Show

“Susannah and Captain Huxley”

Gail Storm, actress and singer, passed away on June 27, 2009.

I accidentally stumbled across a brief note about her passing.  She lived to be 87.  Had she died sooner or in a more dramatic way than living a full life, her passing might have been noticed by more people.

I remember Gail Storm from “The Gail Storm Show” in the fifties.  She was Susannah, the meddling social director on a cruise ship.  I also remember her from “My Little Margie” which I got to see in reruns if I was home sick.

Prior to television, she was in movies, including westerns with Audie Murphy, Roy Rogers and George Montgomery.  She had best selling records with  I Hear You Knocking, Teenage Prayer and Dark Moon.   Later in life, she did cameos in Burke’s Law, Love Boat and Murder, She Wrote.  She was active in stage – credits included South Pacific, Finian’s Rainbow and The Unsinkable Molly Brown.

I remember laughter and smiles.  I remember joy.  I remember Gail Storm.

In a week where celebrities were falling down around us – Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett, Billy Mays, Fred Travalena, Michael Jackson – the passing of Gail Storm will probably not be noticed by many.  But, I noticed.  And, I am thankful that I grew up in a time when her lively humor gave us something to laugh at and smile about.

In her time, she was well-known and well-loved, earning three stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Thank you, Miss Storm!

www.gailstorm.tv

July 4, 2009 Posted by | Farewell | 5 Comments