Don’t Make Me Get the Flying Monkeys!!!!

JFK, Jr ~ 10 Years Gone

John F Kennedy Jrs Birthday- Salutes

It’s hard to believe that it has been 10 years since JFK, Jr died in a plane crash, caused by his own pilot error.  Also killed were his wife and sister-in-law.

It’s odd, as his life had no real historical significance, that I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when it came on the news that the plane was missing.  I was in a motel room, finishing tallies from a fleece competition before I headed back to the fairgrounds.  I never get near that motel that I don’t think of that morning.

Those of us old enough to remember the real thing and those who remember the iconic photo of John-John saluting during his father’s funeral procession had hopes that his would be a life lived as a replacement to his fathers.  But, it was not to be.

July 16, 2009 Posted by | Farewell | Leave a comment